Minutes of General Assembly, 12 September, 2023, 2pm to 3pm (CEST)

European Women in Mathematics (Euroopan Naismatemaatikot ry) Date: 25.8.2022

Place: online

The meeting was opened at 2pm (CEST) by Diane Maclagan (convenor) and had the following agenda:

- 1. Welcome from the Convenors
- 2. Appointment to take minutes of the meeting, check minutes and count votes
- 3. Approval of minutes from the last General Assembly in Helsinki in 2022
- 4. Report from the convenors
- 5. Financial report
- 6. Election of new members for the standing committee
- 7. Confirmation of new country coordinators
- 8. Any other business

We present below the main points of the development of the meeting. In addition, the slides used by the convenor to illustrate the EWM activities are attached to the present document.

1. Welcome from the Convenors

Diane Maclagan and Veronica Felli (convenor and deputy convenor, respectively) welcomed the participants to the meeting.

2. Appointment to take minutes of the meeting, check minutes and count votes

The assembly approved the proposal of the convenor to appoint Sofia Castro and Maria-Magdalena Boureanu to take minutes and Anna Maria Candela and Carla Cederbaum to check the minutes (with 56 yes-votes, 1 no-vote and 1 abstention). The votes were counted using a Zoom poll.

3. Approval of minutes from the last General Assembly in Helsinki in 2022

The minutes from the last General Assembly were approved (with 54 yes-votes, 1 no-vote and 6 abstentions). The minutes can be found attached to the present document.

4. Report from the convenors

The report was done by the convenor who presented slides on ongoing and new initiatives.

5. Financial report

The financial report was presented by the convenor who stressed the importance of membership, both institutional and personal, in the income of the EWM. The item

"Miscellaneous" was clarified by Camilla Hollanti and Diane Maclagan as relating to bank fees, registry update costs and support for the EMS-EWM Summer School.

The attraction of more institutional members was briefly discussed and a few suggestions were made concerning desirable updates to the webpage and the information it contains.

The assembly voted in favour of discharging the auditors and the standing committee from liability for the accounting year 2022 (with 52 yes-votes, 0 no-votes and 7 abstentions).

The assembly voted in favour of re-electing the auditors for 2023 (with 56 yes-votes, 1 no-vote and 0 abstentions).

6. Election of new members for the standing committee

Anna Maria Candela (Italy) and Margarita Zachariou (Cyprus) were proposed as new members for the standing committee. They both introduced themselves and were elected with 58 yes-votes, 0 no-votes and 1 abstention.

7. Confirmation of new country coordinators

Mélanie Bertelson (Belgium), Mirjana Milijevic (Bosnia-Herzegovina), and Vassiliki Farmaki (Greece) were presented as new country coordinators. They were confirmed with 53 yes-votes, 0 no-votes and 4 abstentions.

8. Any other business

At her request to conclude her tenure as the NL coordinator, Maria Vlasiou was freed from her former duties as country coordinator. There was no other business.

The meeting was closed at 3pm (CEST). There were around 65 members present at any given time, from a total of 82 members that attended the meeting. The list of the members that attended this online meeting and the duration of their attendance is attached to the present document.

Signatures

Diane Maclagan, Convenor

Maria-Magdalena Boureanu (minutes recorder)

Minutes examined and approved by:

charre andela

Anna Maria Candela

Veronica Felli, Deputy Convenor

Sofia Castro (minutes recorder)

Solis Cottall

Carla Cederbaum

arla Cedes