EWM General Assembly 2007

Minutes of the General Assembly Time: Thursday, September 5, 2007 Place: University of Cambridge, UK Present: fourty-five people from twenty countries

1. Opening of the General Assembly

Moderator: Marjo Lipponen, Finland

Marjo Lipponen welcomed everybody to attend the General Assembly.

The thirteenth meeting of EWM was announced on the EWM web-pages and e-mail network in September 2006. The requirement for majority was also met. Thus Marjo Lipponen declared the General Assembly to be legal

The agenda proposed by Lipponen was accepted.

2. Appointment of tasks for the General Assembly

2.1. Appointed people to take notes at the assembly:

Camilla Hollanti, Finland Christin Borge, Norway

2.2. Appointed people to check the minutes:

Aasa Feragen, Finland Charlene Kalle, Netherlands

2.3. Appointed people to count the votes:

Dorothea Strauer, Germany Janne Kool, Netherlands

3. Approved new members

The General Assembly accepted those who have become members since the last meeting, and those who became members during this meeting.

4. Approved the minutes of the previous General Assembly

The minutes of the previous General Assembly held during the 12th meeting of the EWM, 2005, were approved.

5. Election of new auditors

The secretary was given a mandate to find new auditors from Finland.

6. Confirmation of the financial statement and relief of responsibilities

Marjo Lipponen presented the financial reports for 2005 and 2006, which were confirmed. The auditors have suggested that those responsible for liabilities should be discharged of their responsibility. The General Assembly discharged them of responsibilities.

Marjo Lipponen also announced that the Ministry of Education in Finland has ceased to support the

funding of the secretary starting in 2007. The secretary is currently paid from the EWM funds.

7. Membership fees

The General Assembly decided that the membership fees should be as follows: 5 Euro (low), 20 Euro (standard), 50 Euro (high).

There was a discussion about what one benefits from the membership and membership fee. Caroline Series suggested that the EWM/EMS Coordination Group could discuss this further.

Marjorie Batchelor suggested that people could donate money, for instance, to support young mathematicians with low salaries to attend the next meeting.

There was also a discussion about how to collect the fees more efficiently, for instance by credit cards or using PayPal. It was noted that PayPal is not completely secure, and that credit cards are not very common in Eastern Europe. One suggestion was to arrange the payment through EMS and to get a discount for combined membership fees. It was emphasized that the membership fees should be collected locally and spent locally, or otherwise brought to the meetings to avoid the bank costs.

8. Election of Standing Committee for 2008-2009

The continuing members, elected in 2005, of the Standing Committee are

Marjo Lipponen, Finland Sylvie Paycha, France Tatiana Vasilieva, Russia

Proposed re-elected members are

Badrieh Kojok, Lebanon and Canada

The following were proposed as new members

Camilla Hollanti, Finland Dusanka Perisic, Serbia Daniela Popova, Bulgaria and USA Magdalena Roszak, Poland

The General Assembly agreed with the proposal and confirmed the membership in the Standing Committee of those listed above.

9. Election of the convenor and deputy convenor for 2008-2009

Marjo Lipponen was elected as the deputy convenor for 2008-2009. Caroline Series and Sylvie Paycha will approach people in order to find a new convenor for EWM.

10. Election of international coordinators

The following people were chosen to be the international coordinators for the following regions:

Center and East: Natasha Balashevich, Belarus South and West: Irene Sciriha, Malta Other: Camilla Hollanti, Finland

11. Confirming the regional coordinators

The General Assembly confirmed the regional coordinators:

Olga Mukhtarova, Azerbaijan; Natalia Balashevic, Belarus; Daniela Nikolova, Bulgaria; Tinne Hoff Kjeldsen, Denmark; Camilla Hollanti, Finland; Christine Charreton, France; Andrea Blunck, Germany; Jennifer Scott, Great Britain; Maria Leftaki, Greece; Rosa Maria Spitaleri, Italy; Valentina Dagiene, Lithuania; Irene Sciriha, Malta; Charlene Kalle, The Netherlands; Christin Borge, Norway; Magdalena Roszak, Poland; Emilia Petrisor, Romania; Natalia Lyulko, Russia; Zorica Uzelac, Serbia; Karin Baur, Switzerland; Betul Tanbay, Turkey; Larissa Fardigola, Ukraine

Alexandra Tkacenko was nominated to be a new coordinator for Moldova and Daniela Velichova for Slovakia. Hungary, Sweden and Georgia will also get new coordinators.

It was decided that some non-European countries (China, Australia, and USA) could have a contact person to EWM.

12. Commissions

12.1. Links with EMS, AWM and the emerging countries

Link with the European Mathematical Society (EMS): Sylvie Paycha Link with the Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM): Daniela Popova Link with Emerging countries: Marjorie Batchelor

12.2. The Newsletter

Aasa Feragen, Finland and Lorna Gregory, UK, were elected to be the newsletter editors. Marjo Lipponen asked the audience to produce material for the next newsletter. Camilla Hollanti and Christin Borge were named to write a report on this meeting.

12.3. Proceedings

Sylvie Paycha and Katharina Habermann were elected to be the proceedings editors.

12.4. The Webpage

It was decided that Marjo Lipponen, Finland together with Elizabeth Baldwin, UK will be responsible for the webpage of EWM.

12.5. The e-mail network

It was decided that Elizabeth Baldwin will be responsible for the e-mail network.

12.6. The Funding Committee

The General Assembly left the election of the treasurer and the Funding Committee for the Standing Committee.

13. Proceedings

The General Assembly left the decision of the form of the proceedings to the editors.

14. Choosing time, place and organizing committee for the next meeting

14.1. Time and place

Caroline Series mentioned that there are a few possibilities for the next meeting which will be further explored and announced later. Sylvie Paycha notified that in EMS they are planning to establish a permanent scientific committee which can help in organizing EWM meetings as well.

15. Activities

Marjo Lipponen mentioned that EWM have had joint activities with AWM in ICM 2006 in Madrid and ICIAM 2007.

There will be an EMS Meeting in Amsterdam in 2008 and Charlene Kalle, Janne Kool, L aura Tedeschini-Lalli, Daniela Popova, and Camilla Hollanti agreed to contribute or help someone else to contribute to the meeting. It was noted that there is Germany Maths Year 2008 and something could be organized.

16. Closing the General Assembly

Marjo Lipponen thanked everyone for attending and declared the General Assembly closed.