# **EWM General Assembly 2005**

**Minutes of the General Assembly** 

Time: Thursday, September 23, 2005

Place: Volgograd State University, Russia

Present: twenty-four people from seven countries

## 1. Opening of the General Assembly

Moderator: Marjo Lipponen-Salhi, Finland

Marjo Lipponen-Salhi welcomed everybody to attend the General Assembly.

The twelfth meeting of EWM was announced in the EWM newsletter on April 2004 and on the EWM web-pages. The requirement for majority was also met. Thus Marjo Lipponen-Salhi declared the General Assembly to be legal.

The agenda proposed by Lipponen-Salhi was accepted.

## 2. Appointment of tasks for the General Assembly

### 2.1. Appointed people to take notes at the assembly:

Colette Guillopé, France Valeriya Lykina, Germany

## 2.2. Appointed people to check the minutes:

Alyna Chmakova, Germany Inna Spivak, Germany

## 2.3. Appointed people to count the votes:

Tatiana Sannikova, Russia Tatiana Levanova, Russia

### 3. Approved new members

The General Assembly accepted those who have become members since the last meeting, and those who became members during this meeting.

## 4. Approved the minutes of the previous General Assembly

The minutes of the previous General Assembly held during the 11th meeting of the EWM, 2003, were approved.

### 5. Election of new auditors

Marjatta Näätänen and Raili Pauninsalo were chosen to be auditors but if they are not available then the secretary has a mandate to find new auditors from Finland.

## 6. Confirmation of the financial statement and relief of responsibilities

Marjo Lipponen-Salhi presented the financial reports for 2003 and 2004, which were confirmed. The auditors have suggested that those responsible for liabilities should be discharged of their responsibility. The General Assembly discharged them of responsibilities.

The General Assembly wishes that in the future the financial reports for the general meetings and other activities should be published and available in the next General Assembly. Also the local organizations should provide their financial reports of the membership fees and local activites.

## 7. Membership fees

The General Assembly decided that the membership fees should remain as before: 1 Euro (low), 20 Euro (standard), 50 Euro (high).

There was a discussion about raising the fees. Catherine Bandle remarked that there is a risk to loose members if the fees are too high. This actually happened in Russia for the Women in Science and Education Association.

## 8. Election of Standing Committee for 2004-2005

The continuing members, elected in 2003, of the Standing Committee are

Polina Agranovich, Ukraine Lyudmila Bordag, Sweden Karma Dajani, The Netherlands Badrieh Kojok, Lebanon Laura Tedeschini-Lalli, Italy

Proposed re-elected members are

Catherine Hobbs, Great Britain Marjo Lipponen-Salhi, Finland Sabine Pickenheim, Germany

The following were proposed as new members

Rachel Camina, Great Britain Sylvie Paycha, France Tatiana Sannikova, Russia Tatiana Vassilieva, Russia

The General Assembly agreed with the proposal and confirmed the membership in the Standing Committee of those listed above. In case Rachel Camina is not available, another person who is active in the organization of the next meeting should be elected instead. Catherine Hobbs was elected for two years.

Catherine Bandle remarked that it is important for young people to participate in such committees because it would carry future influence in the mathematical community.

## 9. Election of the convenor and deputy convenor for 2006-2007

Marjo Lipponen-Salhi was elected as the convenor for 2006-2007. Laura Tedeschini-Lalli and Karma Dajani were elected to be the deputy convenors.

In case some of the people do not agree at the end, it was left to the Standing Committee to make other proposals.

#### 10. Election of international coordinators

The following people were chosen to be the international coordinators for the following regions:

Center and East: Natasha Balashevich, Belarus

South and West: Irene Sciriha, Malta North: Laura Fainsilber, Sweden

Russia: Irina Potap�eva

## 11. Confirming the regional coordinators

The General Assembly confirmed the regional coordinators:

Olga Mukhtarova, Azerbaijan; Natalia Balashevic, Belorussia; Daniela Nikolova, Bulgaria; Marie Demlova, Czech Republic; Lisbeth Fajstrup, Denmark; Helle Hein, Estonia; Marjo Lipponen-Salhi, Finland; Christine Charreton, France; Andrea Blunck, Germany; Helen Robinson, Great Britain; Maria Leftaki, Greece; Rosa Maria Spitaleri, Italy; Daina Taimina, Latvia; Nerute Kligiene, Lithuania; Irene Sciriha, Malta; Rajae Bentaher, Morocco; Coby Geijsel, The Netherlands; Cathrine Tegnander, Norway; Magdalena Jaroszewska, Poland; Emilia Petrisor, Romania; Zorica Uzelac, Serbia and Montenegro; Rosa Maria Miro Roig, Spain; Catarina Rudalv, Sweden; Karin Baur, Switzerland; Betul Tanbay, Turkey; Larissa Fardigola, Ukraine

Natalia Lyulko was elected to be a new coordinator for Russia.

It was decided that some other countries like Switzerland and Finland will look for new coordinators.

#### 12. Commissions

#### 12.1. Links with EMS, AWM and the emerging countries

Link with the European Mathematical Society (EMS): Sylvie Paycha Link with the Association for Women in Mathematics (AWM): Colette Guillopé Link with Emerging countries: Laura Tedeschini-Lalli

#### 12.2. The Newsletter

Alyna Chmakova, Valeriya Lykina and Inna Spivak, Cottbus, Germany, were elected to be the newsletter editors.

#### 12.3. Proceedings

Tatiana Azarova and Tatiana Vassilieva were elected to be the proceedings editors.

### 12.4. The Webpage

It was decided that Marjo Lipponen-Salhi, Finland, will continue to be responsible for the webpage of EWM.

### 12.5. The e-mail network

It was decided that Catherine Hobbs will continue to be responsible for the e-mail network.

### 12.6. The Funding Committee

The General Assembly left the election of the treasurer and the Funding Committee for the Standing Committee.

## 13. Proceedings

It was decided that the proceedings of this meeting will appear in electronic form in internet. The maximum number of pages for the preliminary lectures is 10 pages and for other contributions 5 pages. The deadline for the papers is January 31, 2006.

## 14. Choosing time, place and organizing committee for the next meeting

#### 14.1. Time and place

Cambridge, Great Britain has been proposed as the location for the next meeting. This was highly approved by the General Assembly.

Colette Guillopé remarked that we should also think about the places for the future meetings and she hoped that the meeting would be organized in Northern countries.

### 14.2. Organizing Committee

The election of the Organizing Committee was left for the Standing Committee to be decided together with people from England.

#### 14.3. Suggested themes for the next meeting

It was decided that the new convenor sends an announcement in the email network to find prominent women who could give lectures in the next meeting. Answers are expected by the end of Octobre, 2005. The themes for the meeting will then be chosen according to the speakers.

#### 15. Activities

EWM will have activities in ICM 2006 in Madrid and ICIAM 2007 in Zurich. Laura Tedechini-Lalli is the corresponding person in both of these meetings.

## 16. Closing the General Assembly

Marjo Lipponen-Salhi thanked everyone for attending and declared the General Assembly closed.